The Female Founders Monitor (FFM) is…

the key study on the importance of female founders for the German startup ecosystem. The goal of the Female Founders Monitor is to support women entrepreneurs in Germany and to promote the openness, diversity and competitiveness of the startup ecosystem. On the basis of facts and figures, the FFM raises awareness of the conditions for female founders, identifies current challenges and fosters social change.

Three Goals

Startup research

The FFM aims to advance startup research by focusing the attention on the position of female founders in this field.

Motivation and challenges

As a result, the specific motives of female founders and their challenges in the startup ecosystem are made visible.

Empowerment of women

Our goal is to create new momentum for empowering women in the tech sector and in business as a whole.

Results at a glance

The share of female founders in Germany is only 15.7 %

The majority of startups in Germany are led by all-male teams, while female founders are strongly underrepresented. This imbalance leaves an enormous innovative, economic and technical potential untapped.

Women are more likely
to embrace social and
sustainable business models

In addition to their entrepreneurial drive, female founders are more strongly motivated by overarching goals than male founders: their motivation is closely related to the green economy and social entrepreneurship. As a result, startups led by female entrepreneurs are characterized by their strong connection between economy and society.

Female founders
drive innovation in
the healthcare system

In the context of the current corona crisis, the strong presence of female entrepreneurs in the health and education sectors is particularly interesting – more than a quarter of all women-led startups are active in these two sectors. Female founders are therefore a fundamental driver of medical innovation and the digitization of the education system in Germany.

Women’s teams
are significantly less likely to receive large amounts of funding

Fast growth and raising high volumes of capital are still the exception for female founders: To date, only 5.2% of female-led teams have received one million euros or more – compared to 27.8% of male-founded teams.

Female-led startups are not getting enough attention from VCs and business angels

There is an overall “gender bias” in funding: When it comes to investments by business angels and venture capital funds, for example, there is an enormous gap between aspiration and reality among female-founded teams.

Many female founders still lack important networks

The resources provided by a strong network play a decisive role concerning the success or failure of a startup. All too often, female founders still lack access to the investment sector and the established economy.

Publishers and partners

Alexander-Hirschfeld

Alexander Hirschfeld

leads the research department at the Startups Association.

femalefoundersmonitor2020-Nina-Woess

Nina Wöss

has been actively shaping the European startup community since 2012.

femalefoundersmonitor2020-Jannis-Gilde

Jannis Gilde

is part of the research department at the Startups Association.

femalefoundersmonitor2020–2

Mayra Frank

is responsible for Google for Startups in Germany.

femalefoundersmonitor2020-3

Zoé Gadsden

develops programs to supports founders for Google for Startups.

Der Female Founders Monitor (FFM) ist…

die zentrale Studie zur Bedeutung von Gründerinnen für das deutsche Startup-Ökosystem. Ziel des Female Founders Monitors ist es, Startup-Gründerinnen in Deutschland zu unterstützen und auf diese Weise die Offenheit, Diversität und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Startup-Ökosystems zu fördern. Auf Basis von Zahlen und Fakten schärft der FFM das Bewusstsein für die Bedingungen von Startup-Gründerinnen, benennt aktuelle Herausforderungen und leistet damit einen wichtigen Beitrag zum gesellschaftlichen Wandlungsprozess.

Drei Ziele

Startup-Forschung

Der FFM will die Startup-Forschung voranbringen, indem er die Stellung von Gründerinnen in diesem Feld in den Mittelpunkt rückt.

Motive sichtbar machen

Auf diese Weise werden die spezifischen Motive von Gründerinnen und ihre Herausforderungen im Startup-Ökosystem sichtbar gemacht.

Stärkung von Frauen

Dabei geht es nicht zuletzt darum, neue Impulse für die Stärkung von Frauen im Tech-Sektor und in der Wirtschaft insgesamt zu setzen.

Ergebnisse auf einen Blick

Der Anteil der Startup-Gründerinnen in Deutschland liegt bei nur 15,7 %

Eine deutliche Mehrheit der Startups in Deutschland wird von Männer-Teams aufgebaut, Gründerinnen sind dagegen stark unterrepräsentiert. Durch dieses Ungleichgewicht bleiben enorme innovative, wirtschaftliche und technische Potenziale unausgeschöpft.

Frauen setzen häufiger
auf soziale und nachhaltige
Geschäftsmodelle

Gründerinnen sind, neben ihrem unternehmerischen Antrieb, stärker als Gründer durch übergeordnete Ziele motiviert: Sie binden ihre Motivation häufiger an das Ziel der ökologischen Nachhaltigkeit und fühlen sich mehrheitlich dem Bereich Social Entrepreneurship zugehörig. Damit etablieren Startup-Gründerinnen ihr Geschäftsmodell stärker an der Schnittstelle zwischen Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft.

Startup-Gründerinnen
bringen Innovation in das Gesundheitswesen

Vor dem Hintergrund der aktuellen Corona-Krise besonders interessant ist die starke Präsenz von Startup-Gründerinnen im Gesundheits- und Bildungswesen – mehr als ein Viertel der frauengeführten Startups sind in diesen beiden Sektoren tätig. Gründerinnen sind daher ein elementarer Treiber medizinischer Innovationen und der Digitalisierung des Bildungssystems in Deutschland.

Frauenteams erhalten
deutlich seltener große Wachstumsfinanzierungen

Die aktuelle Diskrepanz beim Wachstum zwischen Startup-Gründerinnen und -Gründern ist vor allem Ausdruck ungleicher Ressourcen: Nur 5,2 % der Frauen-Teams haben bereits eine Million Euro oder mehr erhalten – bei den Männer-Teams sind es dagegen 27,8 %.

Frauengeführte Startups werden von VCs und Business Angels zu wenig berücksichtigt

Im Investment-Prozess lässt sich ein deutlicher „gender bias“ nachweisen, der die Chancen für Gründerinnen auf eine Finanzierung einschränkt: So besteht für Frauen-Teams bei Investments durch Business Angels und Venture-Capital-Fonds eine enorme Kluft zwischen dem Wunsch nach Finanzierung und ihrer tatsächlichen Realisierung.

Vielen Gründerinnen fehlen noch immer wichtige Netzwerke

Eine entscheidende Rolle für den Erfolg oder das Scheitern eines Startups spielen Ressourcen, die im Umfeld in Form eines belastbaren Netzwerks zur Verfügung stehen. Startup-Gründerinnen fehlen zum Investmentbereich und der etablierten Wirtschaft zu häufig noch die Zugänge.

Herausgeber und Partner

Alexander-Hirschfeld

Alexander Hirschfeld

leitet den Forschungsbereich im Startup-Verband.

femalefoundersmonitor2020-Nina-Woess

Nina Wöss

ist seit 2012 in der europäischen Startup Community aktiv.

femalefoundersmonitor2020-Jannis-Gilde

Jannis Gilde

ist im Forschungsbereich beim Startup-Verband tätig.

femalefoundersmonitor2020–2

Mayra Frank

ist bei Google for Startups für die Deutschlandstrategie verantwortlich.

femalefoundersmonitor2020-3

Zoé Gadsden

bringt für Google for Startups Gründerinnen weiter.