This is the Female Founders Monitor

 

Despite their high skills and entrepreneurial ambitions, women are still seriously underrepresented on the executive floors of most companies. The same is true for the startup sector with currently only 16% female founders. The reasons for these disparities are complex, but women clearly have to overcome a whole range of obstacles on their way to the top. This is not only unfair, but also a major problem concerning economic growth.

 

The goal of the FFM, which has been published since 2018 by the German Startups Association and Google for Startups, is to learn more about female founders, their motives and challenges and to promote the topic publicly. This way, we want to provide new political momentum for empowering women in the tech sector and in business as a whole.

 

The study is based on the data collected for the German Startup Monitor (DSM) 2019. The DSM is the most comprehensive study of the startup ecosystem in Germany and is conducted annually by the German Startups Association with the support of PwC. With its specific focus on startups and innovative business models, the DSM distinguishes itself from studies on entrepreneurship more generally.

Publisher

Startups are the driving economic force of the future. As the representative and voice of startups in Germany, the German Startups Association has been committed to a founder-friendly environment since 2012 and currently represents more than 900 startups. Within its network, the Startups Association enables an equal exchange between innovative young companies, established businesses and the political sphere.

A key concern for the Startups Association is the empowerment of women in the startup ecosystem. With this objective in mind, the Female Founders Monitor has been published annually since 2018. It is guided by the vision of an open, equal and progress-driven society.

 

More information about the Startup Association

Alexander Hirschfeld

heads the research division at the Startups Association. He is the project lead of the German Startups Monitor and responsible for all studies published by the Startups Association on various topics related to the ecosystem, such as the Female Founders Monitor. He has a doctorate in the field of sociology, with a thesis on changes in the world of work. In his teaching and studies Alex has focused on the relationship between industry and technology at different universities in Germany and abroad. This included one year spent as a visiting researcher at Columbia University in New York.

Jannis Gilde

is responsible in the research division of the Startups Association for the development and relations with the partner network of the German Startup Monitor as well as for data analyses. He is also contributing to further studies on the ecosystem as an author. Jannis holds degrees in political and administrative science from Zeppelin University in Friedrichshafen and the Free University Berlin. In addition to his studies, he gained practical experience in the field of political communication in Berlin and Brussels and at a leading strategy consultancy.

Nina Wöss

Active in the European startup community since 2012, Nina got to know the ecosystem from different angles. As a Principal and later Head of Marketing & Community at Speedinvest, a pan-European seed-stage VC fund, she put her focus on portfolio services and knowledge exchange among founders. In 2016 she co-founded Female Founders, an organization that aims to change economy and society by fostering entrepreneurial leadership. Female Founders currently runs different programs, among them a startup accelerator for female-led ventures from all over Europe and a female leadership program for corporate talent.

Partner and Sponsor

Google for Startups supports startups around the world. The mission: to guide founders through crucial phases of their development, to support startup communities and to network them; on the one hand by providing products, resources and best practices from Google, and on the other by mobilizing the global Google network, which includes many established startup organizations, experts and investors. Google for Startups wants to create a level playing field for startup teams and has been publishing the Female Founders Monitor together with the German Startups Association since 2018. The study shows that women continue to be underrepresented in the startup world and have less access to resources (particularly financial) and networks.

At this point, Google for Startups starts a specific mentorship program. The Immersion: Women Founders Programm accompanies female founders through the growth phases of their startups, supports them with mentors and Google experts, connects them within the founder community and investor scene, and gives them more visibility within the ecosystem.

 

More about Google for Startups and on Twitter @GoogleStartups
Click here for the application page of the Immersion: Women Founders Programms

Mayra Frank

is responsible for the Germany strategy at Google for Startups. She is committed to fostering a more diverse startup community and supports female founders in
Germany and Europe by promoting targeted programs and initiatives. Prior to Google for Startups, Mayra worked on Google’s brand strategy in Silicon Valley and ran global philanthropic initiatives for Google.org. Mayra has a background in communication, innovation management and design thinking: She studied at the University of the Arts in Berlin and at Central Saint Martins College of Arts and Design in London.

Zoé Gadsden

develops content and formats at Google for Startups to educate, connect, and support founders in their careers and company growth. Previously, Zoé served as Head of New Ventures for Tech Open Air, Europe’s largest interdisciplinary technology festival. She is also a founding member of Female Narratives, a creative agency committed to creating a more inclusive media landscape. Zoé’s background is in experiential marketing, and she studied economics, art management, and art history in New York.

Das ist der Female Founders Monitor

 

Trotz ihrer hohen Qualifikation und unternehmerischen Ambitionen sind Frauen an der Spitze der Wirtschaft nach wie vor stark unterrepräsentiert. Und auch die Startup-Welt ist noch eine Männerdomäne – mit nur 16% Gründerinnen. Die Ursachen dafür sind vielschichtig, es ist jedoch eindeutig, dass Frauen auf dem Weg nach oben eine ganze Reihe von Hindernissen überwinden müssen. Das ist nicht nur ungerecht, sondern etwas, das man sich als Volkswirtschaft schlicht nicht leisten kann.

 

Der FFM, den der Bundesverband Deutsche Startups e.V. seit 2018 gemeinsam mit Google for Startups veröffentlicht, setzt an diesem Punkt an und will mehr über Gründerinnen, ihre Motive sowie Herausforderungen erfahren und das Thema öffentlich voranbringen. Denn nur so können die richtigen wirtschaftlichen und politischen Impulse gesetzt werden.

 

Grundlage der Studie sind die erhobenen Daten des Deutschen Startup Monitor (DSM). Der DSM ist die umfassendste Studie zum Startup-Ökosystem in Deutschland, die vom Startup-Verband mit Unterstützung von PwC jährlich durchgeführt wird. Durch den spezifischen Fokus auf Startups grenzt sich der DSM von anderen Studien ab und richtet den Blick explizit auf innovative Geschäftsfelder.

Herausgeber

Startups sind die treibende Wirtschaftskraft unserer Zukunft. Als Repräsentant und Stimme der Startups in Deutschland engagiert sich der Bundesverband Deutsche Startups e.V. seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 2012 für ein gründerfreundliches Deutschland und vertritt derzeit mehr als 900 Startups. In seinem Netzwerk schafft der Startup-Verband einen gleichberechtigten Austausch zwischen Startups, etablierter Wirtschaft und Politik.

Ein zentrales Anliegen ist die Stärkung von Frauen im Startup-Ökosystem. Vor diesem Hintergrund veröffentlicht der Startup-Verband seit 2018 jährlich den Female Founders Monitor. Dabei leitet ihn die Vision einer offenen, gleichberechtigten und fortschrittsorientierten Gesellschaft.

 

Mehr Informationen zum Startup-Verband

Alexander Hirschfeld

leitet den Forschungsbereich beim Startup-Verband und ist zuständig für die Veröffentlichung von wissenschaftlichen Publikationen rund um zentrale Themen des deutschen Startup-Ökosystems, wie den Deutschen Startup Monitor und den Female Founders Monitor. Er hat im Fach Soziologie zum Wandel der Arbeitswelt promoviert und an unterschiedlichen Universitäten im In- und Ausland insbesondere zum Verhältnis zwischen Wirtschaft und Technik gelehrt und geforscht – unter anderem ein Jahr lang als Visiting Researcher an der Columbia University in New York.

Jannis Gilde

ist im Forschungsbereich beim Startup-Verband insbesondere für den Aufbau und die Pflege des Partner-Netzwerkes sowie die Datenauswertung im Rahmen des Deutschen Startup Monitors verantwortlich und arbeitet als Autor an Publikationen wie dem Female Founders Monitor mit. Er studierte Politik- und Verwaltungswissenschaft an der Zeppelin Universität in Friedrichshafen sowie an der Freien Universität Berlin. Neben dem Studium sammelte er praktische Erfahrung in der politischen Kommunikation in Berlin und Brüssel sowie bei einer führenden Strategieberatung.

Nina Wöss

ist seit 2012 in der Startup-Community in Europa aktiv und kennt das Ökosystem aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln. Als Principal und später Head of Marketing & Community bei Speedinvest, einem paneuropäischen VC-Fonds im Seed-Stage-Bereich, konzentrierte sie sich auf Portfoliodienstleistungen und den Wissensaustausch zwischen Gründern. Sie ist eine der Gründerinnen von Female Founders, einer Organisation, die seit 2016 Frauen in den Bereichen Digitalisierung und Entrepreneurship vernetzt sowie mit Accelerator- und Leadership-Programmen unterstützt.

Partner und Förderer

Google for Startups unterstützt Startups auf der ganzen Welt. Die Mission: Gründerinnen und Gründer in entscheidenden Phasen ihrer Entwicklung weiter zu bringen, Startup-Communities zu fördern und diese miteinander zu vernetzen. Dies geschieht zum einen über die Bereitstellung von Produkten, Ressourcen und Best Practices von Google, zum anderen durch die Mobilisierung des globalen Google Netzwerks, zu dem viele etablierte Startup Organisationen, ExpertInnen und InvestorInnen zählen. Google for Startups will gleiche Wettbewerbsbedingungen für Startup-Teams schaffen und publiziert seit 2018 gemeinsam mit dem Bundesverband Deutsche Startups den Female Founders Monitor. Die Studie zeigt, dass Frauen in der Startup-Welt weiterhin unterrepräsentiert sind und

über weniger Zugang zu Ressourcen und Netzwerken verfügen. Hier setzt Google for Startups gezielt mit einem Mentorship-Programm an. Das Immersion: Women Founders Programm begleitet Gründerinnen durch Wachstumsphasen ihrer Startups hindurch, unterstützt sie mit MentorInnen und Google ExpertInnen, vernetzt sie innerhalb der GründerInnen-Community und InvestorInnenenszene und verleiht ihnen mehr Visibilität im Ökosystem.

 

Mehr Informationen zu Google for Startups und auf Twitter @GoogleStartups
Hier geht es zur Bewerbungsseite des Immersion: Women Founders Programms

Mayra Frank

ist bei Google for Startups für die Deutschlandstrategie verantwortlich. Sie setzt sich aktiv für eine vielfältigere Startup-Community ein und unterstützt Gründerinnen
in Deutschland und Europa durch die Förderung gezielter Programme und Initiativen.

Zuvor hat sie im Silicon Valley die Markenstrategie von Google entwickelt und globale philanthropische Initiativen von Google.org voran getrieben. Mayra hat einen Hintergrund in Kommunikation, Innovationsmanagement und Design Thinking: Sie hat in Berlin an der Universität der Künste und am Londoner Central Saint Martins College of Arts and Design studiert.

Zoé Gadsden

entwickelt für Google for Startups Inhalte und Formate, um Gründerinnen und Gründer weiterzubilden, besser zu vernetzen und sie so bei ihrem Werdegang und
Unternehmenswachstum zu unterstützen. Zuvor arbeitete Zoé als Head of New Ventures für Tech Open Air, Europas größtes interdisziplinäres Technologiefestival. Sie ist auch Gründungsmitglied von Female Narratives, einer Kreativagentur, die sich für eine inklusivere Medienlandschaft einsetzt.

Zoé hat ursprünglich einen Hintergrund in Experiential Marketing und studierte Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Kunstmanagement und Kunstgeschichte in New York.